After working on a model since 1988, with Technical & Policy Development conferences and AGM workshops, 8 locals (CNC, Malaspina, Okangan, Selkirk, AWU, Langara, VCC & North Island) formed the Coordinated Bargaining Council to support 5 demands: salaries, benefits, workloads, protection for non-regular faculty, and faculty development resources. 

Langara's three-week strike made progress on most of these, and over the next four months, six others reached agreements or tentative agreements without job action. NICFA took longer, as they were bargaining a first collective agreement.

Meanwhile, the Korbin Commission was investigating public sector bargaining, and after its report, government set up the Public Sector Employers' Council (PSEC) with sub-councils for different sectors: ours was called the Post-Secondary Employers' Council (PSEA), but did not include the research universities who would bargain directly under PSEC.