March 1970

After several meetings to draft a constitution for a BC Federation of College Faculty Associations, an inaugural AGM took place in Vancouver over the Easter long weekend on March 28th, 1970. Representatives from Capilano, Malaspina, New Caledonia, Okanagan, Selkirk and Vancouver City (Langara) established the College Faculties Federation. 

Brian Webster, a physics instructor at Selkirk, was elected the first President. The executive was made up of one representative from each of the six locals. Fees were set at $7 per local member per year; and the projected annual budget was $2,445.